It is my sincerest of beliefs that how you plate your food greatly influences your overall enjoyment of the food item. It helps to build excitement about what you are about to eat, and in its own way helps you focus more on what you are eating. Personally, I find it much easier to relax & enjoy a meal that I have taken the time to arrange somewhat artistically than I do a meal that I just threw on a plate.

As an example, let’s just hypothesize that you are wanting to eat a bun-less burger. For many people, that would look something like this:

burger

A regular old lettuce-wrapped burger… this is literally the best picture I could find on flickr, you guys.

OR, you can eat a bun-less burger like this:

Turkey burger on a bed of avocado, onion & bell pepper, topped with homemade coleslaw & sides of butternut squash fries, pickled turnips, persian cucumber & tomato.

Now, I don’t know about you guys, but that first picture does not really ‘do it’ for me the way that the second one does. The first option just seems kind of “meh” to me. Now, there is every chance that a meal without presentation will actually have better flavor than one that is more aesthetically pleasing. HOWEVER, (pause for effect) there is a reason why restaurants everywhere can charge more for a smaller plate if it is plated well. Millions of fancy/overpriced restaurants can’t be wrong, guys.

So today I am assigning some evening homework:

When you make your dinner tonight– whatever you decide to make– try to take the time to plate it like you are going to sell it at a 300% markup. Take a picture to share, and then get back to me! Did the plating have an effect on your overall eating experience?

About Sarah Saturday

I am a celiac living in the greater Los Angeles area. Finding gluten-free friendly eats can be rather problematic, but I have learned to adjust, and hope to continue learning new things to share. Living gluten-free is not always easy, but it can be incredibly delicious!

Leave a Reply

