Can you guess how much these groceries cost me?

The San Fernando Valley is full of different stores offering a wide variety of international foods and inexpensive produce. My top three stores here are Super King,  Jons International Market, and Valley Produce. A typical week will usually result with me going to all three at some point, depending on the sales and what area I find myself in. This week, Super King was my main squeeze, and I was able to get all I needed & more. 

The super stock-up deals of the week:

  • Tuna @ 79 cents per can
  • Rice Vinegar a@ $2.50 a bottle
  • Garlic @ 69 cents/pound

My weekly run down:

  • 15 cans of tuna (Chicken of the Sea)
  • 4 bottles of rice vinegar
  • 2 bags of garlic
  • 4 persian cucumbers
  • 5 1/2 pounds of brown onion
  • bag of cuties
  • 2 pineapples
  • 2 eggplants
  • 2 bunches of green onion
  • 2 pounds of tomatoes

My final damage: $30.52

Keep in mind that the majority of what I bought is going to be added to our pantry for future use. The food that I bought for us to eat until next super-Wednesday cost $8.67. Now, this obviously isn’t enough food to sustain two people, but if you read my first blog, you know that we like to stock our pantry like it’s the Apocalypse. Factoring in the meat we will be pulling from the freezer & the grains/beans that we will be cooking, we will be spending somewhere around $30 this week to feed two people. I don’t know about you guys, but I happen to think that is pretty damned amazing.

About Sarah Saturday

I am a celiac living in the greater Los Angeles area. Finding gluten-free friendly eats can be rather problematic, but I have learned to adjust, and hope to continue learning new things to share. Living gluten-free is not always easy, but it can be incredibly delicious!

Leave a Reply

